Major Purge!

So I’ve had about enough of the clutter around here.  I’m purging!  Less stuff to clean under, on, and over is better.  Does anyone have any purging tips?

So far I am going by the following rules:

  1. If we haven’t used it in 3 months – its going.
  2. Same for if I haven’t worn in it in 3 months – its going to consignment.
  3. If I don’t like the look of it now (art) I’m probably not going to like it in a few months – Kijiji.
  4. If I haven’t used it in a project yet, it needs to get sold – kijiji.
  5. If the pets aren’t playing with their toys/scratchers they’re getting donated – humane society?

The only thing I’m having a hard time justifying getting rid of is movies and books.  I never could get into those ebooks.  I love having paper books around the house.  I can always remember what was happening in my life and how I felt when I was reading a certain book.  I can’t give away my memories!!

2 thoughts on “Major Purge!

  1. I would suggest getting a friend to help…preferably one that will keep you on task and help you make the tough choices of what to do with things you haven’t touched in years. I just finished cleaning up my garage and I think we can actually fit a car in the space we de-cluttered! It was amazing how much junk I had tossed out there to deal with later. Good luck!

  2. You could try donating books to a library. I can’t part with books either! I like your list… I might have to use it but it’s hard for me to get around to purging for 5 people & 1 dog!

Leave a Reply

